Public Sector Banks in India



Bank Name	Details
Andhra Bank	Andhra Bank was established on 20 November 1923 in Hyderabad,
	Telangana. Genius and freedom fighter, Pattabhi Sitaramayya,
	founded this bank.
Allahabad Bank	Allahabad Bank was established on 24 April 1865 in Kolkata, West
	Bengal.
Bank of India	Established on 7 September 1906 in Mumbai, Maharashtra. The
	government has a stake of 64.4% in this bank.
Bank of Baroda	This bank was established on 20 July 1908 in Vadodara Gujarat. The
	Maharaja of Baroda, Maharaja H.H. Sir Sayajirao Gaekwad III,
	founded this bank.
Bank of Maharashtra	The Bank of Maharashtra was started on 16 September 1935 in Pune,
	Maharashtra.
Corporation Bank	Corporation Bank was set up on 12 March 1906, in Mangalore,
	Karnataka. The government of India has a 100% stake in this bank.
Central Bank of India	Established on 21 December 1911 in Mumbai, Maharashtra.
Canara Bank	Canara Bank was set up on 1 July 1906 in Mangalore, Karnataka.
Dena Bank	This bank was established on 26 May 1938 in Mumbai, Maharashtra.
Indian Overseas Bank	Indian Overseas Bank was set up on 10 February 1937 in Chennai,
	Tamil Nadu.
Indian Bank	Established on 15 August 1907 in Chennai Tamil Nadu, the
	government has a share of 81.51% in this bank.
Oriental Bank of Commerce	Oriental Bank of Commerce was established on 19 February 1943 in
	Gurgaon, Haryana.
Punjab National Bank	Punjab National Bank or PNB as popularly known amongst people
	was set up on 19 May 1894 in New Delhi. Lala Lajpat Rai and Dyal
	Singh Majhithia founded Punjab National Bank.
Punjab & Sind Bank	This respective bank was established on 24 June 1908 in New Delhi.
Syndicate Bank	Established in 1925 in Bengaluru, Karnataka, the Syndicate Bank is
	considered as one of the most trustworthy banks in this country.
State Bank of India	State Bank of India is the oldest bank in this country and the name
	says it all. Almost every Indian citizen has an account is this bank
	which was established on 2 June 1806 in Mumbai, Maharashtra.
	Rajnish Kumar is currently serving as the chairperson.
United Bank of India	Set up on 1950 in Kolkata, West Bengal.
Union Bank of India	Union Bank of India was set up on 11 November 1919 in Mumbai,
	Maharashtra.
UCO Bank	This bank was established on 6 January 1943 in Kolkata, West Bengal.
	It was founded by Ghanshyam Das Birla.
Vijaya Bank	Established on 23 October 1931 in Bengaluru, Karnataka.
India Post Payments Bank	This bank was set up on 1 September 2018 in New Delhi, and the
	government has a 100% stake in it.