Awards & Recognition



Award Name	Information
Bharat Ratna	Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian honour of the Republic of India, given for exceptional service towards advancement of Art, Literature and Science, and in recognition of Public Service of the highest order. It is also not mandatory that Bharat Ratna be awarded every year.
Padma Awards	The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service). The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.
Gallantry Awards	Post-independence, first three gallantry awards namely the Param Vir Chakra, the Maha Vir Chakra and the Vir Chakra were instituted by the Government of India on 26th January, 1950 which were deemed to have effect from the 15th August, 1947.
	Thereafter, other three gallantry awards i.e. the Ashoka Chakra Class-I, the Ashoka Chakra Class-II and the Ashoka Chakra Class-III were instituted by the Government of India on 4th January, 1952, which were deemed to have effect from the 15th August, 1947. These awards were renamed as the Ashoka Chakra, the Kirti Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra respectively in January, 1967.
	These gallantry awards are announced twice in a year - first on the occasion of the Republic Day and then on the occasion of the Independence Day. Order of precedence of these awards is the Param Vir Chakra, the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra.
Nobel Prize	The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards bestowed in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in



	recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific
	advances. The will of the Swedish chemist,
	engineer and industrialist Alfred Nobel
	established the five Nobel prizes in 1895.
Awards in Literature	 The Specsavers National Book Awards
	includes many categories, such as the
	Book of the Year, Outstanding
	Achievement, UK Author of the Year,
	Children's Book of the Year and Thriller
	& Crime Novel of the Year.
	The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is
	awarded to writers of full-length novels.
	• Pulitzer Prize is given to those in
	newspaper or online journalism,
	literature, or music. There are 21
	categories including the Pulitzer Prize for
	Editorial Writing, the Pulitzer Prize for
	Music and the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.
	Costa Book award is given to authors in
	Great Britain and Ireland and there are
	five winners annually in the following
	categories - best novel, best first novel,
	children's book, poetry and biography.
	One of the winners is awarded the Costa
	Book of the Year title.
	The Moortidevi Award is an India literary
	award annually presented by the
	Bharatiya Jnanpith, a literary and
	research organisation, to an author.
Awards in Films	The Academy Awards, also officially and
	popularly known as the Oscars, are
	awards for artistic and technical merit in
	the American film industry.
	• The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India's
	highest award in cinema. It is presented
	annually at the National Film Awards
	ceremony by the Directorate of Film
	Festivals, an organisation set up by the
	Ministry of Information and
	Broadcasting.
Awards in sports and Games	The Arjuna Awards were established by
	the Indian Government in 1961 for the
	excellent performance by the
	sportspersons in various events. The
	award holds a cash prize of INR 500,000,
	a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.
	The Government has recently modified
	the format of the award. As per revised
	guidelines, a sportsperson must have a
	constant excellent performance for the
	previous three years at international
	previous three years at international



level to be eligible for the award, along with extraordinary qualities like leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

 The Dhyan Chand Award is the highest lifetime achievement award in sports and games in India and is presented by the Indian Government. Initiated in 2002, the award bears a cash prize of INR 500,000 rupees, a figurine, ceremonial dress and a scroll of honor. It is named after the renowned Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand.

In India, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the highest honor given for accomplishment in sports. The term "Khel Ratna" translated in Hindi literally means "sports gem". Named after the former Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi, the award carries a medal, a significant cash price of Rupees 750,000 and a scroll of honour. The award was initiated in 1991-92 to offer a highest national tribute in the field of sports. The award was formulated to present the utmost honour for exceptional sporting performance, whether by an individual or a team in all sporting disciplines in a year.